Restaurant Adventure Part 1: Yung’s Cafe

Too Tender is the Truth About Pork Stir Fry… 

On Wednesday, March 3rd Antioch College Community Life rallied a van full of hungry students to go on an outing to Yung’s Cafe, a Vietnamese Restaurant. Jennifer Berman, Associate Director of Restorative Justice, spearheaded the operation and staff members Elecia Harvey-Spain, Kerry Hooks, and Jessica Martinez were also in attendance. The restaurant was located in the middle of nowhere with a bright paint job, restrooms outside, and a neon OPEN sign.

“I thoroughly enjoy the amount of food sharing happening.” -Lee Yoyoh

” 5 Stars! A bit of a hole in the wall! I had the Stir Fried Pork and damn, those serving sizes are seriously huge. The little side dishes of pickled veggies are cute and family style. The servings were easily 2-3 meals in one, if you can practice self control. We went as a party of 15 and the waitress was very accommodating and kind. She kept our glasses full and the food was hot! What a great time! We all tried each others dishes and everyone was very happy. I would recommend it to anyone, especially if you are a fan of spicy food.” -A Yelp Review by Angelina Rodriguez

youngs
I did not take this photo. I found it on google.

“It was a great way to relieve stress, eat great food, and have fun getting to know new people.” -Sylvia Newman ’16

“Yungs has great japchae and bulgogi and i had a great time dining with a different group of people than i normally eat with. Sharing a meal and eating until you might pass out is a great time to bond!” -Greta Treistman ’17

“Dinner at Yong’s was the best community experience I’ve had at Antioch since before I went on my first co-op, from eating delicious steaming food together to having to huddle like penguins until we figured out how to work the heat in the college van.” -Jane Foreman ’17

“Although I have been to Yung’s several times, I don’t think it has ever tasted this good to me. Maybe it was the japjae; maybe it was the overwhelmingly good pork fry that Angelina let me taste, and then take home. But I think it was the wonderful people who were there with me. Food shared with others fills me up in more ways than one. I am so grateful to eat in the company of friends, the laughter, the jokes, the kindness nourish and comfort me.” -Kijin Higashibaba ’16

…Nothing seems to bring out the Antioch love and camaraderie like a good bowl of noodles.

Angelina Rodriguez and friends

 

One thought on “Restaurant Adventure Part 1: Yung’s Cafe

  1. This sounds so good! I have been there once and I had Yukgaejang or something like it. I thought they did a great job. Its good to see yall going out and exploring the area.

    Like

Leave a comment